Creativity and visions and playtime!

Standard

 

“Creativity is… seeing something that doesn’t exist already. You need to find out how you can bring it into being and that way be a playmate with God.” — Michele Shea

You are the creative expression of God!  His greatest masterpiece, his favorite poem.  Your very existence screams of his creativity and love!

For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.
My frame was not hidden from you
when I was made in the secret place,
when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
Your eyes saw my unformed body;
all the days ordained for me were written in your book
before one of them came to be.
How precious to me are your thoughts, God!
How vast is the sum of them! ~ Psalm 139:13-17

You were made to experience him and to enjoy his nature in you!  His very image in you gives you the ability to love, to share, and to create!

You may wonder why I chose “Playing in the Fountain” for my name….  It comes from a vision that I believe God gave me about 14 years ago.  It was pretty much the only time in my life that I felt like God spoke to me in that way, although, at the time, I didn’t really understand what it meant.  I saw myself in one of the prayer fountains at ORU where I went to school.  I had climbed into the fountain (which is a definite no-no at ORU…lol) and was having the time of my life.  Not only was I splashing and playing, but I was drinking the water and laughing!  People were coming to watch and were impacted by it.  My interpretation of the vision, at that time in my life, was that I just needed to get into God’s presence more so that He could use me to impact people.  I felt like I was only dipping my toes into the water and needed to jump in.  I was never satisfied with my level of surrender to God, always feeling like I should be doing more or loving more.  I didn’t see that God wasn’t calling me to try harder, but to give up trying and to start playing!   Perhaps he was even showing me that relationship is more important than following rules. 🙂  About a year and a half ago I discovered my union with Jesus and his finished work and I officially resigned from it all….  I have never been happier!  He pulled me into the water and I’m never getting out!

The world may not need another blogger, but I need to write, and if someone enjoys my ramblings that’s even better!  Join me as I journey into a new place of creativity and fun!  ~ Elissa

About playinginthefountain

I am a child of God, fully accepted and magnificantly loved by him! He has romanced me and I am completely satisfied with all he has done for me. I want nothing more than to live in his love and to share his goodness with others. The most important people in my life are my wonderful husband and my three sweet, crazy kids. I am so blessed to be on this adventure with them! It's a wild ride, but in him I have an endless supply of peace and rest. I eat from the abundance of his house and drink from his river of delights!~Psalm 36:8-9

One response »

Leave a Reply

